City / State Legal Requirements
for the Practice of Reflexology

Compiled by Barbara & Kevin Kunz, Reflexology Research Project

State/City

Type of Law

Requirements for Reflexology Practitioners*

Alabama

For more information.

Licensing as a massage therapist

 650 hours of education, Written exam, NCETMB required

Alaska

No requirements

 

Arizona

For more information.

No requirements

 Reflexologists written out of massage therapy licensing enacted in 2003. Massage is defined by law as "The manual application of compression, stretch, vibration or mobilization of the organs and tissues beneath the dermis, including the components of the musculoskeletal system, peripheral vessels of the circulatory system and fascis, when applied primarily to parts of the body other than the hands, feet and head."

Arkansas

For more information.

Licensing as a massage therapist

500 in-class educational hours, Written exam, NCETMB or Borad exam required

California

Municipal requirements in some cities

 

Fremont, CA

Licensing as a massage therapist

100 hours of massage training required

Los Angeles, CA

For more information.

Licensing as a massage therapist

100 hours of massage training/testing required. Written and practical test administered by the city. An additional special "home call" license can be required for that service in each city. Some cities in LA and Orange counties require VD and AIDS testing.

Modesto, CA

For more information.

 

"Practitioners who present to the Police Chief proof of satisfactory completion of two hundred hours of reflexology classroom instruction in reflexology related subjects dealing with feet, hands or ears and reflexology practice from a reputable school of reflexology. The practitioner must submit proof of attendance, including certified transcripts or other documents acceptable to the Police Chief."

Sacramento, CA

For more information.

Licensing as a somatic practitioner

 

Proof of graduation from an accredited massage school, membershiop in a national professional massage association and 12 hours of CEU's per year.

San Diego, CA

For more information.

Licensing as reflexologist pending vote of City Council (5/30/03)

200 hours of reflexology training

per year fee

Colorado

Municipal requirements in some cities

 

Colorado Springs, CO

Licensing as a massage therapist

Massage training required. Further requirements: posting of license, the wearing of a white lab coat, surprise walk-in inspections by the sheriff's department.

Denver, CO

Licensing as a massage therapist

1000 hours of massage training required

Connecticut

For more information.

No requirements

 

Delaware

For more information.

Massage/Bodywork Therapist license certified technician / Certification required

Therapist 500 hours and written exam (NCETMB); Technician 100 hours

Florida

For more information.

Licensing as a massage therapist

500 educational hours, Written exam (NCETMB)

Georgia

No requirements

 

Hawaii

Licensing as a massage therapist

570 educational hours, Written exam

Idaho

For more information.

No requirements

 

Illinois

For more information.

No requirements

Exemption in law from massage licensing

For more information.

Indiana

No requirements

 

Iowa

For more information.

No requirrements

 Exemption in law from massage licensing

Kansas

No requirements

 

Kentucky

No requirements

 

Louisiana

Licensing as a massage therapist

 

Maine

No requirements

Exempted in law from massage licensing

For more information.

Maryland

For more information.

No requirements

Exemption in law from massage licensing under certain circumstances.

For more information.

Massachusetts

For more information.

No requirements

 

Michigan

No requirements

 

Minnesota

For more information.

Full and fair disclosure requirements

 

Mississippi

No requirements

 

Missouri

No requirements

 Exemption in law from massage licensing.

Montana

For more information.

No requirements

 

Nebraska

Massage licensing required

 1000 hours of massage training, practical exam, NCETMB exam

Nevada

For more information.

No requirements

 

New Jersey

For more information.

No requirements

 

New Hampshire

For more information.

Massage licensing required

 

New Mexico

For more information.

No requirements

Exemption in law from massage licensing.

For more information.

New York

For more information.

Licensing as a massage therapist

1000 educational hours, Written test

North Carolina

For more information.

No requirements

Excluded by Board Rules from massage licensing under certain circumstances.

For more information.

North Dakota

For more information.

Licensing for reflexology

 Completion of a course of study in a school whose curriculum has been approved by the Board and passing an examination administered in the state.

 

Oklahoma

No requirements

 

Oregon

For more information.

Licensing as a massage therapist

500 hours of massage training, Written/Practical test

Pennsylvania

For more information.

No requirements

 

Ohio

No requirements

Rhode Island

No requirements

 

South Carolina

No requirements

 

South Dakota

No requirements

 

Tennessee

For more information.

Registration as a reflexologist

Reflexologists are required to obtain 200 hours of reflexology training. "… an applicant for reflexology registration to demonstrate or do the following: (1) Certification by the American Reflexology Certification Board, the International Institute of Reflexology or completion of a 200 hour reflexology course; (2) That the applicant is at least 18 years of age; (3) Two character references; (4) That the applicant has not been convicted of a felony; and (5) Pay fees set by the division. ... authorize reflexologists to hold themselves out as licensed certified reflexologists."

Texas

For more information.

No requirements

 Reflexology deleted from the definition of massage therapy during revision of Rules and Regulations review by Texas Department of Health. (Feb. 2001) "As a result of meetings with stakeholders and comments received during the comment period, the department (of Public Health) determined that including specific modalities in the definition is not appropriate because some of the techniques and modalities may not involve the manipulation of soft tissue for the purpose of body massage and the types of advanced techniques and modalities are too numerous to provide an inclusive list. Additionally, the definition of `massage therapy' in the Act does not include a list of specific modalities. The department will continue to study alternate techniques and modalities on an individual basis to determine whether each constitutes the manipulation of soft tissue by hand or through a mechanical or electrical apparatus for the purpose of body massage. The definition of massage therapy has been modified to delete reference to specific techniques or modalities.

Utah

No requirements

 

Vermont

No requirements

 

Virginia

No requirements

 

Washington

For more information.

No requirements

Exemption in law

For more information.

Wisconsin

For more information.

No requirements

 

Wyoming

No requirements

 

* Exemption from massage laws is typically granted to those licensed for cosmetology and medicine.

.